Falling in Love with the ’40s

I’ve been inspired by the 1940’s and apparently I’m not alone.  I came across this window at a Max Mara store in Piacenza last month and was so taken with the image that I had to snap a photo.  The close-fitting but flattering shapes, the colors and textures drew me in.

Window of Max Mara in Piacenza, Italy

As soon as I came home I made a beeline for TJ Maxx to mine the racks for similar shapes.  TJ Maxx may not have the Prada, Dior and Gucci I was surrounded by at outlets in Italy, but I can shop at TJ Maxx and still pay my mortgage.  Priorities, you know.

Anyway, I found this red, wool pencil skirt.  A soft, cotton, sleeveless blouse with rosette appliqués is the perfect silhouette to pair with the skirt.  Finished with platform, red Michael Kors maryjanes, I think I managed to pay homage to the era without looking as if I’m in costume.

The tailoring, fit and jewel-toned colors of the 1940’s are going to figure prominently in my fall/winter wardrobe.

About Felicia Biggins

I'm a fashion blogger and owner of The New Black, a personal styling business, in Austin TX. Follow me on Twitter: @fbigg.
This entry was posted in Daily outfits, Trends and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Falling in Love with the ’40s

  1. Erin says:

    Ooh, I really like that skirt. And it looks great on you.

  2. Maggie S. says:

    If that is the trend, I’m in business. As for you, of course, you look great.

Leave a Reply

