Why “The New Black”?

I’m a lifelong follower of fashion.  For as long as I can remember, I’ve used clothing and accessories to express myself, my style changing with the times, my interests, my income and my body.

I was barely out of toddlerhood when I begged Mom for a pair of tiny, acrylic mules with feather boas attached to the vamps and I wore the hell out of those shoes.  I remember every detail of my favorite outfits dating back to childhood – like my purple mini-skirt, worn with a purple & cream plaid, long-sleeved blouse and my cream, patent leather loafers (leave me alone, it was the 70s) – because I still clearly remember how those outfits made me feel: pretty, adventurous…smart, even.  Yeah, I had a brief, Angela Landsbury “Murder, She Wrote” phase in college (leave me alone, it was the 80s). Don’t even get me started on my interpretation of grunge in the 90s.

My love affair with fashion has only deepened over the years and a fabulous outfit can still evoke feelings in me that nothing else can.  The way a gorgeous pump makes my legs look a mile long, the feel and color of the leather in a great handbag, the way a dress hugs my waist or skims my curves…it’s Christmas morning to me and, honestly, I occasionally find it difficult to grasp that not everyone feels the same.  That not everyone enjoys combing through racks of clothing and shelves of accessories looking for that perfect addition to a wardrobe or a “look” is really sort of fascinating to me.

But I get it.  I know, for some, the act of shopping and trying on clothes is comparable to having a root canal (I’m looking at you, Karen U.).  But, I also think we all deserve to feel good about the way we look.  So, with the encouragement and advice of some amazing chicks I know (Dawn, Chrissie, Laurie…looking at you now) I started an image consulting/personal styling business called The New Black.

Why “The New Black”? Because I want to help you become the next big thing in fashion.

About Felicia Biggins

I'm a fashion blogger and owner of The New Black, a personal styling business, in Austin TX. Follow me on Twitter: @fbigg.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why “The New Black”?

  1. laurie says:

    Well, what a privilege for me to praise your blossoming business Gal Pal~congratulations and looking forward to seeing where this takes you!

Leave a Reply

