I love a good dress

I’m sort of known for being a “dress girl”.  Dresses are so easy – no coordination involved other than choosing a pair of shoes. I’m diversifying these days and mix in trousers, jeans, walking shorts and skirts but it’s hard to beat the ease of dresses.

I bought this fitted, gray Calvin Klein dress from TJ Maxx last summer.  I think I paid $30 for it.  The silver statement necklace is from Charming Charlie’s – $24.  The turquoise ballerina flats I found online at Nordstrom’s. They set me back $50 and weren’t on sale but, if you consider cost-per-wear, at this point Nordstrom owes ME for these bad boys.

I bought this dress for a couple of reasons.  One, gray is a neutral, goes with everything and can be worn year-round.  Sometimes I wear my taupe, snake skin heels or my sexy, pewter, platform pumps.  And, of course, my black pumps or strappy, platform wedges work, too.  But, this time of year, I like adding a pop of color with it.

Two, I’ve got a curvy build and a fitted dress – fitted, not clingy – is flattering.  If it had been a v-neck, or even a boatneck, it would’ve been absolute perfection because it would lengthen my neck but I’m not one to quibble.  Much.

This statement necklace is one of my favorite finds this summer.  I only recently discovered Charming Charlie’s (I know, I know…!) but I’ve made up for being tardy to that party, believe me.  Anyway, I wear this necklace with anything that doesn’t have a low neckline because, on me, a low neckline AND a statement necklace, would be a bit much. I keep my other jewelry subtle because I can’t really carry off the big earrings/big necklace look.

This is one of my favorite outfits and it cost about $104.

About Felicia Biggins

I'm a fashion blogger and owner of The New Black, a personal styling business, in Austin TX. Follow me on Twitter: @fbigg.
This entry was posted in Daily outfits. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

