Bermuda shorts at work?

Bermuda shorts aren’t acceptable in some workplaces.  But, I live in Austin where it’s hovering around 200 degrees Fahrenheit this summer, so Bermudas are an option in many offices.  The trick to making them work-appropriate is to wear them with other work-appropriate pieces. No tank tops, no flip flops…not even cute ones.

With my favorite, white Bermudas, found at TJMaxx last month, I chose a simple, black Mossimo T-shirt (Target), and black, wedges I scored on sale at an outlet mall several years ago (here’s a similar shoe on sale at DSW).  Belting the shorts give the outfit more polish.  And, because my office is refrigerated, I added a yellow cardigan from Boden for a little color.  The outcome is a professional, summer look that took me from work straight to happy hour for a nice, cold, adult beverage.

About Felicia Biggins

I'm a fashion blogger and owner of The New Black, a personal styling business, in Austin TX. Follow me on Twitter: @fbigg.
This entry was posted in Daily outfits, How To's and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

