Mixing Prints

I’ve seen all sorts of prints mixed in fashion magazines, the most striking example being a floral print dress worn with leopard print heels.  I saw it and thought it was maybe not something I would try myself but I could kind of…almost…get it.

What I was willing to try myself was mixing polka dots and stripes.  The rule of thumb is to keep the hues and the scale the same, i.e. if the print is large on one piece, the print should be large on the other.

I have a green, mid-calf length J.Crew skirt with medium-sized white polka dots outlined in navy which I picked up at a garage sale.  The expected pairing would be something navy or white – blouse, Tshirt, cardigan.  Instead, I wore this with a white Old Navy tank with medium-sized navy stripes.  I put these on together and, to me, they just clicked.  Such a happy outfit!  And, since it was the weekend and I was heading out to do some serious shopping, I wore my white Chuck Taylors to keep my feet happy, too.

About Felicia Biggins

I'm a fashion blogger and owner of The New Black, a personal styling business, in Austin TX. Follow me on Twitter: @fbigg.
This entry was posted in Daily outfits, How To's and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

