Size Doesn’t Matter (at least, not in clothing)

I’m sure you’ve heard style mavens tout the importance of trying on clothes and not being attached to fitting into or being a certain size.  When you wear clothes that fit you, regardless of the size printed on the label, you always look better and, in many cases, slimmer than you do when you attempt to squeeze yourself into a smaller size for vanity’s sake.  Besides, the sizes aren’t on the outside – nobody knows unless you tell them.  And who does that?!

A few months ago, through the miracle of a daily Lucky Deal (if you haven’t subscribed, I highly recommend it), I bought a pair of gray Lands’ End stretch cargo pants at 50% off. When they arrived, I slipped them on and realized I’d found cargo nirvana – they fit perfectly.

Then a couple of weeks later, Lands’ End had a sale and offered these same pants in several colors, also at 50% off.  I bought them in navy and white.  Same size and cut as the gray pair.  Imagine my surprise when I tried them on and had a completely different result.  The white pair were too baggy all over; the navy pair were baggy in the rear. Same size, same cut, different fit.  This was an online purchase so I didn’t have the opportunity to try them on before buying, but my point is that, in a store, you have to be willing to go up or down from the size you think you are because size not only differs from retailer to retailer but different lots from the same retailer will produce clothing that is slightly larger or smaller than the size on the label.

Moral of the story?  It does not matter what size your clothing is; that’s between you and…well, you.  Wear clothes that fit and flatter you and you will look amazing, regardless of your size.

About Felicia Biggins

I'm a fashion blogger and owner of The New Black, a personal styling business, in Austin TX. Follow me on Twitter: @fbigg.
This entry was posted in How To's and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Size Doesn’t Matter (at least, not in clothing)

  1. Good word! I should read this every time I go out shopping – then again in the dressing room.

  2. Elaine Van Norman says:

    What a great reminder! I guess our species simply can’t help being hung up on clothing sizes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

