Dawn: New Job, New Wardrobe

Flattering empire waistline; slimming, straight-leg trousers

My sister, Dawn, is not the fashion floosie that I am.  On a good day, she’s irritated by my admonishments to “put on some lipstick” or my helpful suggestions to change shoes or purses.  On a bad day, I just keep my admonishments to myself.

But last weekend she asked for my help on a shopping excursion to beef up her wardrobe. Dawn was affected by the economic meltdown which kept her unemployed for quite a while, during which the last thing on her list of priorities was buying new clothes.  After starting a new job last week, though, she’s got an excuse to update her work wardrobe.

My sis is a plus-size woman so we headed over to Avenue to look for work-appropriate pieces.  She likes shopping at Avenue because they provide fashionable options for women sized 14 and above.  You won’t find shapeless, matronly caftans on their racks.

We focused on more fitted blouses and trousers with straight legs, to enhance her shape and give her a longer silhouette.  In the pic above, the empire waist draws the eye to the smallest part of her body (just under the bust) and the square neckline, showing some skin, draws your eye in, making her appear narrower.  The straight-leg trouser and matching shoe color make her legs appear longer, more slender.  She looks great, yes?

I tried to talk her into wearing a statement lesson, but no.  Baby steps.

About Felicia Biggins

I'm a fashion blogger and owner of The New Black, a personal styling business, in Austin TX. Follow me on Twitter: @fbigg.
This entry was posted in Street Style. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment