Sometimes I Wanna Look Like A Lady

It’s not a regular occurrence, but occasionally, I enjoy dressing in a way that references the 50’s.  I mean, aside from the obvious drawbacks – non-existent civil rights, non-existent women’s rights, ignorance about the dangers of smoking and Beatniks – the 50’s were when fashion really became fun.  I love watching Doris Day movies because Ms. Day’s wardrobes were orgasmically fabulous.  OK…maybe that’s just me, but you have to admit they were incredible.

This outfit is probably as close as I get to referencing that era.  I found this skirt at Talbot’s a couple of years ago.  I don’t normally shop there because the Talbot style doesn’t usually appeal to me.  I’ve always considered it to be a little too “buttoned up”.  But then I’ll stop by once every two years or so, just for kicks, and walk out with several pieces.  And judging by their more recent offerings, it seems they’ve stepped up their game.

Anyway, this A-line, black and white skirt with the graphic floral print was one of those bi-annual finds.  I wore it with a basic, black, V-neck Tshirt from Target, black, snakeskin flats from DSW and a multi-strand, black bead necklace from Charming Charlie’s that reminds me of pearls.

In referencing the 50’s with modern pieces, I can capture that ladylike essence without looking as if I’m a movie extra who’s lost her way to the set.

About Felicia Biggins

I'm a fashion blogger and owner of The New Black, a personal styling business, in Austin TX. Follow me on Twitter: @fbigg.
This entry was posted in Daily outfits. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sometimes I Wanna Look Like A Lady

  1. Thanks for featuring Charming Charlie in your blog!! We have added your blog to our blog mentions page on our website. It’s a page we created exclusively for showcasing Charming Charlie blog mentions!
    http://www.charmingcharlie.com/blog-mentions

Leave a Reply

