Shoe Love

My favorite shoes...this week

Recently, a friend asked why women love shoes so much and I said it’s because our weight may go up and down but our feet never betray us.  Once we reach adulthood our shoe size is pretty stable (pregnancy-induced feet stretching notwithstanding).

I love my high heels – the higher the better! – though, I’m gathering an impressive selection of flats, as well.  Aside from minimizing the risk of betrayal, my main fascination with shoes is how they can easily transform an outfit.  They can make a Target dress look expensive.  They can make jeans and a Tshirt look interesting.  This is true of any accessories: jewelry, hair ornaments, purses.  I’m just feeling the shoe love, in particular, right now.

When I have a social event (read: happy hour; it’s not as if I’m on anyone’s social register), my go-to solution is a basic top and skirt/jeans/trousers or a shift dress worn with FREAKING, FABULOUS SHOES.  I look as if I put a lot of effort into my outfit when, in reality, it probably took less than two minutes.

Above is a pic of some of my current shoe faves.  I’m really digging flats in unexpected hues or prints (lemon yellow, turquoise, leopard print) and wedges.  I walked up and down 4th Street for four hours on St. Paddy’s Day in a pair of black, strappy wedges and didn’t fall or seek medical intervention.  Wedges rock.  And my white Chuck Taylor’s? They go with everything.  Everything.

About Felicia Biggins

I'm a fashion blogger and owner of The New Black, a personal styling business, in Austin TX. Follow me on Twitter: @fbigg.
This entry was posted in How To's and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

