The Beginning of My Evolution

This morning I was looking through my purse closet [don’t judge], at all the colors and textures and remembering years ago when I would only buy black or brown leather purses. Same with shoes, really.  It was a dark time.  Ha.

I clearly remember the day the clouds parted and the style gods zapped me with some fashion sense.  I was in a Coach outlet store and stumbled across this pastel pink leather bag. Since I was at an outlet store, the price was (almost) reasonable.  I hemmed and hawed. “What will I wear this with?!” but finally decided to get it and that I’d figure it out when I got home.

Given what you know of me by now, you know I figured it out.  And what I figured out is that accessories don’t have to match what you’re wearing; they have to complement it.  In other words, I didn’t have to find a pink dress and/or pink shoes to wear that bag.  I had to find colors within my wardrobe that would work with the pink: white, navy, tan, RED, green, brown…really, any strong color.

The one color I won’t wear with pink is black.  I could tell you that some fashion mavens advise black can cheapen the appearance of color or make for a visually harsh combination.  Sure, okay.  But the truth is, one morning at marching bank practice the drum major wore a fluorescent pink and black puffy jacket.  I didn’t know it yet but I was just about to be sick for a week with a stomach virus.  I took one look at her in that hideous jacket and…  So, I have a physical reaction now when I see black and pink together.  Too much info?

Moving on.  I have since thrown caution to the wind and picked up any gorgeous bag I happen to find, knowing I’ll find a way to make it work with my multicolored wardrobe. If you’re one of those people who still think you have to match your bag to your shoes or to your outfit for the day, take a chance and broaden your accessory horizon.

And if you’re one of those women who never change your purse at all?!  Girl, call me and let’s talk.

About Felicia Biggins

I'm a fashion blogger and owner of The New Black, a personal styling business, in Austin TX. Follow me on Twitter: @fbigg.
This entry was posted in How To's and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

