Updated Gingham

When I was a kid, gingham was my favorite fabric.  What – doesn’t everyone have a favorite fabric?  It’s just such a happy pattern and it made me happy to wear it.  But, as a grown up, the pattern isn’t nearly as sophisticated as (I like to think) I am.

Earlier this summer, I was in Target looking for a bridal shower gift when I came across this dress.  The pattern caught my eye for nostalgic reasons but, lucky for me, I gave it a second look and noticed the interesting details in this simple sheath dress – the appliqued flowers in the same fabric on the left shoulder and the subtle pleating at the neckline.  It will come as no surprise that I wore this very dress to the bridal shower.  On that outing I wore it with pewter, Calvin Klein platform wedges.

Here I’ve paired it with this pair of red, Michael Kors patent and croc print, platform slingbacks.

The shoes elevate this dress but a great purse or eye-catching jewelry would do the same. I can also dress it down with casual sneaks or flat sandals.  The dress was $30 and was probably one of my best purchases this summer.  And wearing gingham still makes me happy.

About Felicia Biggins

I'm a fashion blogger and owner of The New Black, a personal styling business, in Austin TX. Follow me on Twitter: @fbigg.
This entry was posted in Daily outfits and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

