I Styled a Room, Y’all

When I began my little styling biz, I intended to focus on assisting people choose clothing and accessories and to hone their individual style.  Then, a couple of months ago, my dear friend, Peggy W, asked me to style the great room in her house, which has been empty since she bought the house five years ago.  My sweet friend does not enjoy shopping or decorating and admitted she has no patience for the process so she needed help giving her great room an identity.  Because I so enjoy decorating my own house and she’s a very good friend (well, and she paid me), I said I’d do it.

Her great room turned out even better than either of us hoped.  The challenge was striking a balance between what she likes and what her husband, Chris, likes and trying to gently steer them in the direction I thought the room needed.

This was the great room when I started:


They’d purchased the dining table, sectional sofa, chandelier and wall unit, but needed additional seating, lighting, a floor covering and accessories.  Using clothing as an analogy, they had a great suit and bag but needed a blouse, shoes, jewelry, hair styling and make-up.

Here’s the finished product:

I’m calling it “comfortably traditional”.  She says it’s her favorite room in her house and I couldn’t be prouder or more grateful for the opportunity to flex different styling muscles.

And, thanks to a referral from Peggy, I start with my second interior styling client today.

About Felicia Biggins

I'm a fashion blogger and owner of The New Black, a personal styling business, in Austin TX. Follow me on Twitter: @fbigg.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Styled a Room, Y’all

  1. Peggy Wilson says:

    Felicia was fantastic to work with. After reviewing the room with me and understanding my needs, she worked with me in a couple of ways: shopping on her own and posting items on a website for me to look at and shopping with me to help me make selections. She helped me put everything together and was even able to hang pictures and draperies. She made it fun and easy.

    She gave me design suggestions that truly made a difference in the room and were items I would not have chosen or put together. The room has ended up being my favorite in the house! She has fabulous taste, is patient and easy to work with, and respected my choices, while gently “guiding me” when necessary. All in all, it was a great experience and I would recommend her for any Style Consulting needs you may have.

Leave a Reply

