What is Personal Style Anyway?

It goes without saying that I believe in knowing fashion “rules” and working within them. Generally speaking.  I also believe in wearing something that you love even if it isn’t the very best thing you could put on your body.

Case in point, this blue dress.  For someone with my bustline, this generously cut garment is not especially flattering for my shape.  The way it hangs straight down from my chest makes me look as if I a) have no waist and b) should consider cutting back on the carbs.  I try to fake it for this photo by placing my hands on my waist, but I can’t walk around all day like that.  Eventually, my hands move away and – voila! – I’m in a tent with no discernible figure whatsoever.  If I were my own client, I’d try to talk me out of this dress.

But I love it!  The color is gorgeous, and gorgeous on me, and I bling it up with silver jewelry, pewter wedges (hot, right?) and plenty of attitude.  

I own this look and will continue wearing it, even if it’s textbook “what not to wear”. Personal style isn’t about slavishly following fashion rules.  It’s about making up and following your own rules and doing it with confidence.

If I were my own client, I’d see how much joy I get from my sack dress, throw up my hands and say “Fine, we’ll accessorize with tent poles and a sleeping bag.”  But I’d understand.

About Felicia Biggins

I'm a fashion blogger and owner of The New Black, a personal styling business, in Austin TX. Follow me on Twitter: @fbigg.
This entry was posted in How To's and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

