The Difference a Belt Can Make

A little comparison to make a point about fit.

Remember my sack dress last week? The dress really only touches me at the shoulder and chest and, as I mentioned last week, hangs from there adding volume to my shape.

Compare to the dress I wore just two days later.

This dress, unbelted, is similarly fitted, as in not at all.  But when I belt it, the dress suddenly has structure.  And any woman blessed (or cursed) with T&A needs structure in her wardrobe.  Belted, the dress fits my shape and I look as if I’ve lost 10lbs in two days.

Adding a belt can also add shape to a less curvy figure.  By cinching in the waist you make that part of your body appear narrower than your shoulders and hips creating an hourglass.

Get belts in numerous colors and widths and, when you need to add structure to an unruly dress, you’ll be armed with plenty of options.

About Felicia Biggins

I'm a fashion blogger and owner of The New Black, a personal styling business, in Austin TX. Follow me on Twitter: @fbigg.
This entry was posted in Daily outfits and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Difference a Belt Can Make

  1. Cb says:

    Wow! What a difference the belt makes! Maybe I will try this…I’ve pretty much been an “afraid of belts cause I’m short and high wasted” girl, even when I was thinner. But I might be able to get away with the outer belt style.

  2. Erin says:

    This is so true! I discovered belts last year, and have never looked back. Not only do they add a little shape, but they can be a great accessory and snazz up an outfit with color (think a red belt with a black dress).

Leave a Reply

