How DO You Wear Leggings?

Dear TNB Readers, I apologize for my lapse last week.  Life got busy and I neglected my little blog.  I promise to be more consistent from now on, even if it means cutting back on shopping excursions, which are sacrosanct for me.

Now, on to another great question from Facebook: how do you wear leggings?

Well, as you may know from my earlier posts on the “leggings as pants” trend, I’m not a fan of wearing them that way – i.e. with a top that stops at the waist.  There are two reasons.

First, I have seen women wearing leggings with a crop top or with a tank or blouse tucked in.  Feel my pain?  Leggings are not pants. They don’t have the same weight, visually or literally, as pants.  More importantly, they’re not opaque like pants.  In fact, they’re more like tights which are semi-transparent. When you pull a pair of tights over your rear-end, the weave is stretched and thins, becoming even more transparent.  The same thing happens with leggings.  Do yourself a solid and remember this.

My second issue with that look is proportion.  Leggings have a slim silhouette which looks better balanced with a longer top, like a thigh-length cardigan or a tunic:

Enzo Costa, $77 at Shopbop.com

Or with a longer T-shirt or tank layered under a “boyfriend jacket”:

Aryn K., $28.97 at Piperlime.com

Pumps or cool ankle boots kind of class up this look.  Motorcycle boots toughen it up. Animal print flats give it casual sophistication.  I’d finish this outfit with a long, pendant necklace to maintain the right proportions.

Are you a fan of leggings?  If so, how do you wear them?

About Felicia Biggins

I'm a fashion blogger and owner of The New Black, a personal styling business, in Austin TX. Follow me on Twitter: @fbigg.
This entry was posted in Trends and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How DO You Wear Leggings?

  1. Erin says:

    Thanks Felicia! This is super helpful.

Leave a Reply

