A Nod to Mod

My colorful, *Pucci-esque trapeze is very retro.  The crazy print and shape are evocative of the 60’s Mod fashion I wrote about last week.  What makes it modern is the fabric – a polyester spandex blend.  It moves and hangs nicely, making a shape that otherwise wouldn’t work so well on me, work very well.

While I love the color and shape, what I love most about this dress is I bought it five years ago and I’ve worn the heck out of it.  The take-away lesson?  Regardless of what’s “on-trend” or currently in fashion, buy what flatters you and agrees with your sense of style.  Maybe it’ll be fashionable, maybe it won’t.  But it will always be stylish.

*Emilio Pucci was an Italian fashion designer whose signature was fabrics with geometric prints in wild colors.

About Felicia Biggins

I'm a fashion blogger and owner of The New Black, a personal styling business, in Austin TX. Follow me on Twitter: @fbigg.
This entry was posted in Daily outfits, Trends and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

