Summer to Fall Wardrobe Transition

Last week, my post on Reality Chic Blog was about transitioning your summer wardrobe to fall by mixing your favorite summer staples with fall pieces or accessories. You can read it here.

This outfit is a transitional one.  I’ve worn this gray, sleeveless dress all summer with spring/summer accessories – turquoise flats, nude heels.

Since we’re slowly creeping into fall, or Austin’s version of fall, I’m wearing it here with a leopard print belt and caramel-colored, platform slingbacks. I can add tights, booties and a cardigan or jacket when the temperature begins to drop.

If you’re on a wardrobe budget (and who isn’t?) mixing your summer and fall pieces is a good way to stretch your budget and, by wearing different accessories with something you’ve been wearing for months, it’s almost like having a brand new addition to your closet.

How will you manage your summer to fall wardrobe transition?

About Felicia Biggins

I'm a fashion blogger and owner of The New Black, a personal styling business, in Austin TX. Follow me on Twitter: @fbigg.
This entry was posted in Daily outfits, How To's and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Summer to Fall Wardrobe Transition

  1. Nicole says:

    When is it too soon to wear boots? I tried some on with an outfit today but I just felt like it’s still too warm to wear them. I just got a new pair and I’m excited to wear them!

    • That’s going to depend on the type of boot, what you’re wearing it with and the weather. Over the weekend I saw a few women wearing western boots with sundresses and they looked great. With tall boots, it would’ve looked…weird.

      What sort of boots are yours and what were you going to wear them with?

  2. Cathy says:

    This dress looks great on you!

  3. Erin says:

    I took this advice today and wore a summer dress with a dark belt, cardigan, boots – and leggings, of course!

Leave a Reply

