How To Wear Cropped Pants

I’ve had this pair of cropped pants from Banana Republic for years now.  In fact, I pulled them out of my closet with the intention of donating them to Goodwill because I was bored with them.

But, since one of my styling services is to go through a client’s closet to put together “new” outfits from what they already have, I went through the same exercise with my own wardrobe to figure out how I could wear my cropped pants in a way I hadn’t worn them before.

What you want to remember when deciding what to wear with cropped pants is to watch the proportions.  This sweater hits just below my waist, not quite to my hips.  A longer sweater or jacket, say mid-thigh, would end too close to the cuff of the pants.

If I’d worn a cropped sweater or jacket, I’d have to wear a tank or T-shirt that hit me where this sweater does to keep the outfit’s proportions balanced.

I guess the real moral of this post isn’t proportions or how to wear cropped pants.  The take-away message is that, sometimes, all you need to fall in love again with something in your wardrobe is to style it in a way you haven’t before.

About Felicia Biggins

I'm a fashion blogger and owner of The New Black, a personal styling business, in Austin TX. Follow me on Twitter: @fbigg.
This entry was posted in Daily outfits, How To's and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

