What Are 5 Essential Wardrobe Pieces?

The other day I read a stylist interview during which the stylist was asked to name the five essential pieces women need in their wardrobes.  I agreed with a couple but when she listed “something sparkly”, I had to call “bulls**t”.  I mean, as much as I like a little sparkle, unless you make your living working a pole, it’s hardly essential.

Then I put some thought into what I think the five essential wardrobe pieces for women are and came up with this list:

1) A classic trench coat.  Trench coats are such versatile items, I can’t imagine getting through the cooler months without one.  Whether in the traditional khaki, a bold color or a graphic pattern, a trench will be perfectly at home as part of a casual or dressier outfit. Last year, I wore my classic khaki during a 10-day trip to England and Ireland and it didn’t matter if I were on a bus tour to Belfast or having dinner in a nightclub, my workhorse of a coat was always appropriate. [Hint: always tie the belt – don’t buckle it.]

2) A flattering pair of jeans.  This one is fairly self-explanatory, yes?  When you find a pair that you know, on a cellular level, makes your rear end look fantastic, get two pairs and hem one so you can wear them with flats.

3) A crisp, white, buttoned-down shirt.  You can wear this with anything.  Anything.

4) LBD.  A little black dress works in a variety of settings – work, social events, weddings, funerals.  If you only get one, a simple shift is the way to go since changing your accessories will make the dress look completely different.

5) A pencil skirt.  Pencil skirts are flattering, sexy and appropriate at any age, in any setting.  Whether it’s worn with your white buttoned-down and pumps or a T-shirt and studded booties, the pencil skirt easily adapts to these disparate looks.

So, that’s my list of wardrobe basics.  These items are classics that never go out of fashion.  Simply change up your accessories and these wardrobe pieces will roll with you for years.

About Felicia Biggins

I'm a fashion blogger and owner of The New Black, a personal styling business, in Austin TX. Follow me on Twitter: @fbigg.
This entry was posted in How To's and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

