Who Decides What’s Age Appropriate? You Do!

A few months ago, my friend Karen and I met for coffee and wandered onto the subject of age appropriate clothing for women.  Of course I don’t have the same wardrobe I had when I was in my 20’s.  First, my budget is bigger.  But, what’s more important is my personal style has evolved.

Still, budget and personal style aside, what works on a 20 year old usually doesn’t work on a 40 year old.  I know you’ve seen (or know) those women who share clothing with their teenaged daughters?  Not sexy.

That said, I don’t agree with the rules someone somewhere some time ago decided to saddle us over-35 chicks with.  Say goodbye to miniskirts!  Cut your hair!  Cover those arms!  Put away your stilettos!  Is it really time to close up shop just because I remember disco?

Okay, if your legs aren’t your best feature, you look like Cousin It with long hair, your arms wave hello long before you do and you can still see the scars on your knees and shins from all the times you’ve kissed the pavement, these rules might make sense for you. Regardless of your age.

Otherwise, it makes no sense at all to decide certain clothing or styles are off limits because you’ve passed a certain birthday.  If you want to dress like a rock star at 50, do it. If you don’t feel an outfit is complete without your 5-inch heels, work ’em.

My point?  Wear what flatters you.  Wear what agrees with your personal style. Wear what makes you feel beautiful and let someone somewhere else worry about the rules. Because if you’re still breathing, girl, the shop is still open.

About Felicia Biggins

I'm a fashion blogger and owner of The New Black, a personal styling business, in Austin TX. Follow me on Twitter: @fbigg.
This entry was posted in IMHO and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

