How To Wear Pink Like a Big Girl

I follow Harper’s Bazaar magazine on Twitter and enjoy reading their tweets about fashion news, trends and styling tips. Earlier this week they posted a slideshow of tips about wearing pink.

It can be a tricky color to wear, depending on your own coloring, though knowing how to balance the pink makes wearing it less of a challenge. But the examples and suggestions used in the slideshow were pretty pricey. $900 pink suede booties?! I mean, you know I love a good bootie, that’s just…damn.

Anyway, I don’t even wear a lot of pink, but I like to wear a little here and there. I wanted to find reasonably-priced alternatives to their suggestions so I searched the ‘net for pink, pink and more pink. Here are some options I found, based on the tips in Harper’s.

Edgy florals – Maybe this beautifully patterned dress from Banana Republic doesn’t quite rise to the level of “edgy”, but it’s certainly slightly less sweet due to its deep v-neckline and nipped-in waist.

Ladylike with pop extras – I have to admit, my inclination would be to wear a neutral shoe with pink. On the Kohl’s site, I found this LC Lauren Conrad sweetly ruffled, spaghetti-strapped pale pink chiffon dress. How hot would this dress be with these Michael Antonio blood red, platform wedges from Zappos?

Simple shift – This Vivi Rhinestone cocktail shift found on Piperlime is the most expensive option on my list at $350. It’s also more coral than pink but since coral is a shade of pink, let’s roll with it.

Flats to balance – You could pair Michael Kors’ slate gray flats from Macy’s with Talbot’s neon pencil skirt to counter its intensity.

Pink shoes – This classically-shaped pink, suede peep-toe pump from Ivanka Trump with a bow detail would add a brilliant shot of color to a neutral sheath or slim-fit trousers (gray, beige, navy, chocolate brown…). You can find them at Piperlime for $135.00.

Pale pink handbag – I found this pink Hobo by Urban Expressions at DSW for $39.94. Not too much to shell out for a trendy bag and the pale color makes it easy to wear with other colors.

Refined silhouette – Another Banana Republic find, this intensely bright pink shift is super sophisticated because of its simple, straightforward shape.

Moral of the story? Well, there are two, I think. One, there are many ways to wear pink and still look like a grown up. Two, don’t be intimidated by what you see in fashion magazines. You can get so much inspiration from the pages of those glossies. Take that inspiration and find lower cost alternatives that you – and your bank account – can live with.

By the way, October is National Breast Cancer Awareness Month, which means I probably should’ve written this pink post 28 days ago. But it’s never too late to remind you fabulous ladies to take yourselves in hand for monthly self-exams and to schedule your annual mammogram if you’re over 40. Do it!

Have a great weekend –

Felicia

PS: This week’s post on Reality Chic blog is about putting together a comfy, yet stylish look for the just-around-the-corner holiday travel season.

About Felicia Biggins

I'm a fashion blogger and owner of The New Black, a personal styling business, in Austin TX. Follow me on Twitter: @fbigg.
This entry was posted in How To's, Trends and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How To Wear Pink Like a Big Girl

  1. Carrie says:

    You know, I wear more pink than I realize I do. I usually stick with a darker or more of a fuchsia though. But here’s why: I have this FAB pair of heels that’s all multi-colored with bright and dark pink and a splash of black.

    It’s way cool how much pink I can find in my closet when I wanna wear these shoes. =)

Leave a Reply

