Why You Need Accessories

I was chatting with a friend last week about how stuffed my closet has become.  Not with accessories, but with clothing.  I swear I clear it out every few months – at least three times a year – and take Hefty bags full of clothes to Goodwill.  Yet, I still have clothes in there I don’t, and likely won’t, wear.

My dear friend observed most of us have too much clothing, a comment with which I readily agreed. But then she took it a step too far and added “After all, how many pairs of shoes does anyone really need?”

When I came to and my ability to speak returned, I  couldn’t disagree fast enough. I won’t claim speak for anyone else, but to even suggest I don’t need so many shoes? THAT’S CRAZY TALK!  One, I love my shoes. All of them.  Even the ones that don’t always love me back.  Two, you can drastically change the look of a single garment simply by changing your accessories and, yes, that includes shoes.  I can’t overstate the need for accessories in your wardrobe.

Take one shift dress and….

Wear it to work.  Wear it on the weekend.  Wear it to a nightclub.

One dress, multiple looks.  That’s not just good style sense, that’s good economic sense.

This weekend, I’m clearing out my closet and will be, once again, making the trek to Goodwill with a Hefty bag full of happiness.  There won’t be any shoes in that bag.

About Felicia Biggins

I'm a fashion blogger and owner of The New Black, a personal styling business, in Austin TX. Follow me on Twitter: @fbigg.
This entry was posted in How To's and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Why You Need Accessories

  1. Carrie says:

    I just weeded through all my stuff in my closet back in June. And can already do it again.

    I’m terrible about saying, “Oh, forgot I even had that!” and having FULL intentions of wearing it.

    But do I? Uh, no.

    • I’m initially ruthless: if I haven’t worn it in a year, out it goes. However, if for some reason it doesn’t go out right away, I have been known to sneak back into the donation bag…

  2. Amber says:

    Haha, I so agree! I’m also fairly ruthless when it comes to clearing out my closet, but I find it so hard to part with shoes! And no matter how many pairs I have, I always find myself “needing” a particular style I *don’t* have: proof that you can never have too many!

Leave a Reply

