I Went to Celtic Fest and All I Got Was…a Kilt?

Over the weekend, I hit Austin’s Celtic Festival.  I joked to a friend that, for a $15 fee at the gate, there had better be hot, naked men inside.  There were no hot, naked men.  A lot of men in kilts, of course.  Unfortunately, not a lot of men I wanted to see in kilts.

But, the “no hot, naked men and why in God’s name would he go out in public like that?!” day was redeemed by the good people at Kommando Kilts from whom I bought my very own kilt.  Why should men have all the kilt fun?

I looked at several plaids, army green and camouflage, but ultimately decided basic black looked best on me.  The sizing for these kilts was for men (i.e. 28, 30, 32, etc.) and I had to try on several [over my jeans because the “store” was a booth with sheets pinned up to create a dressing room…and it was really windy] to find one that fit reasonably well. I still have to slide it down on my hips so the waist doesn’t gap, but a belt keeps it all under control.

FYI: I did see kilts made for women at another booth.  Very short.  And, counterintuitively, more expensive.  Go figure.

With my shiny new purchase in hand, all I had to do was wait for kilt weather, which Mother Nature kindly provided me with only a few days later.  Worn with a super soft gray T-shirt, a pair of patterned tights, wedge booties and my pink, leather motorcycle jacket, this skirt is making a statement.

And that statement is “This rocks.”

About Felicia Biggins

I'm a fashion blogger and owner of The New Black, a personal styling business, in Austin TX. Follow me on Twitter: @fbigg.
This entry was posted in Daily outfits and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I Went to Celtic Fest and All I Got Was…a Kilt?

  1. jim says:

    sorry…not getting me into a kilt but yours looks awesome. Perfect weather for it!

  2. Carrie says:

    You are, without a doubt, friggin’ awesome!

    That is fantastic!! There is no way I could pull that off…but you?? Brilliant.

    (Oh, and hey. You see hot men anywhere, you better track a sister down. They ain’t even gotta be naked at this point.)

Leave a Reply

