Wearing Bermuda Shorts in the Fall

Bermuda shorts in the fall.  Totally do-able.

I have to admit I got the idea after seeing pictures of a fashion blogger in Sweden, where they have six months of winter, sporting a pair of Bermuda shorts, a thick, white turtleneck and some rock star sunnies.  I’m sure she was wearing appropriate footwear but in the photo collage her shoes weren’t visible.  She was working her look like a pro.

In Austin, where we have six, non-consecutive days of winter, we’ve had some cold mornings this month (my laptop says the temperature right now is 32 degrees with a forecasted high of 71).  As I’ve said before, layering is the key to wearing a spring/summer piece in the fall and that’s what I’ve done here.   With my Bermudas I’m wearing tights, black snake skin flats, a teal long-sleeved T-shirt, a waist-length jacket from Banana Republic and a scarf.  And, of course, my version of rock star sunnies.  I wouldn’t want to stand around outside in this outfit, but it’s sufficiently warm to get me from the parking lot to the office.

Have a great weekend, y’all.  If you get a chance, visit Reality Chic blog to read yesterday’s post: What to Wear to Thanksgiving.  And remember to thank a military vet today!

About Felicia Biggins

I'm a fashion blogger and owner of The New Black, a personal styling business, in Austin TX. Follow me on Twitter: @fbigg.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wearing Bermuda Shorts in the Fall

  1. Carrie says:

    You ain’t kidding. 6 non-consecutive days is totally our winter. We spread it out over 3 months that way. =)

    Great fashion idea. I love it. And never would have ever considered it till I saw you in it.

    You make me think. And that’s not totally bad.

    • Yes, but thinking can be overrated at times.

      Living where we do, layering is the way to get through our “winters” and get away with wearing our warm weather clothing almost year round. I don’t own sweaters, aside from cardigans. I used to buy them but never wore them more than once a year or so. Also, when you’re not a size 2 or less, they add visual bulk. I don’t know anyone who wants that.

Leave a Reply

