It’s Time to Get Dressed Up for Holiday Parties!

It’s almost time for the holiday party season to commence and I’ve already decided I don’t want to wear the usual little black dress this year. So, what are my other options for holiday parties?

I bought a black jumpsuit from ASOS.com a couple of weeks ago. Mine is strapless, but this one is just as chic. What I like about it is that, in addition to being a sophisticated alternative to the LBD, it’s also versatile. I can just as easily wear it with a statement necklace, sequined pumps and an evening clutch – though I’d replace the brown belt with a black or metallic one – as I can with a cardigan and flats.

Another option? I’ve worn my Karl Lagerfeld for Macy’s leather shorts with leopard flats and a T-shirt to meet a friend for coffee, but for a more casual holiday party, those same shorts will be fabulous with a black sequined tank, black tights and stiletto booties.

How about a metallic maxi dress? I could pair this with black pumps or strappy sandals and a black evening clutch and it would be perfect for a more formal party.

Will you change up your normal holiday go-to outfits this year? Will you wear color or stick with basic black?

(All of these items are on ASOS.com!)

About Felicia Biggins

I'm a fashion blogger and owner of The New Black, a personal styling business, in Austin TX. Follow me on Twitter: @fbigg.
This entry was posted in How To's and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to It’s Time to Get Dressed Up for Holiday Parties!

  1. Erin says:

    The pantsuit: like booties and leggings, it is another item I’ve always found ugly that I may need to reconsider. I can see you rocking one.

    Also, these are all nice, but I think you’re missing the ugly Christmas sweater option. 😉 Mine has a very large bow, says “Jesus is the reason for the season,” and has bells. It jingles when I walk.

    • The jumpsuit has kind of a bad rep from the 70’s and can easily look hideous. I took a chance buying one online and it’ll need some small alterations to make it really work for me. Best bet is to try them on first.

      I was TEMPTED to mention ugly sweaters but ran out of steam last night. Honestly, they deserve their own post. Maybe I’ll solicit pics to post and share…?

  2. Carrie says:

    I’m a sad case. I already do lots of black regardless the time of year. I think that’s only because it’s easy to change up and go from the office to dinner in.

    However, I have NO ugly Christmas sweaters.

    Well, I dooooo have this little festive sweater vest that I haven’t worn since around 1998. I should probably toss it. Just can’t bring myself to do it though.

    • Before you toss the sweater (IF you toss it, I mean), snap a pic and send it!

      Oh, and there are plenty of colors that’ll get you from work to after-hours events besides black. We’ll talk. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Monochrome for the Holidays | The New Black

Leave a Reply

