Wearing Fashion Classics

This outfit is one of my lower-cost faves.  My gray, sleeveless shift with the brass button detail was found at a Banana Republic outlet store more than four years ago.  The mid-calf boots were bought at a DSW in Houston in, I think, 2002.  The graphic-patterned Liz Claiborne trench coat was a TJ Maxx find from four years ago.  And the brass cuff was picked up at Charming Charlie’s during the summer.

Trends are fun and I wholeheartedly believe in indulging in them, but buying classics will always be a good investment.  To keep it modern and fun, mix it up with something trendy.

By the way,  as I’m writing this post I just got home from meeting my first fellow blogger from Austin – Carrie, aka Sassy Redhead.  What a great chick she is.  So great I can’t even tell you.  And, in addition to making me laugh so hard I snorted (whatever; don’t judge), she told me my little blog has given her some fashion inspiration.  If I hadn’t already been tipsy from the Prosecco, I would have been after hearing that compliment.  You made my day, Sassy Redhead!

About Felicia Biggins

I'm a fashion blogger and owner of The New Black, a personal styling business, in Austin TX. Follow me on Twitter: @fbigg.
This entry was posted in Daily outfits and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wearing Fashion Classics

  1. Carrie says:

    Uh, yeah…you TOTALLY make me see my clothes in a whole new light. And now, I’m thinking that skirt will SO go with that blouse, when I used to would only wear that blouse with those pants.

    See?

    I love it! The trench coat is perfect. Just perfect.

    It takes a lot to get this ‘creature of habit’ thinking…and your great advice and suggestions here have done just that!

    And we will SO do wine again…you’re as precious in real life as you are here! And I wouldn’t have thought that was possible!

    • Aw, thanks, new pal o’ mine!

      Glad you’re starting to think about new ways to wear what you already have. As much as I love to shop, I love not spending money when I don’t have to even more.

      But, if I ever win the lottery…? It. Is. On.

Leave a Reply

