Monochrome for the Holidays

Hello and happy week after the national food and shopping orgy! I hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving holiday and managed to score some great finds if you ventured out into the madness that is Black Friday.  I hit exactly one store: Old Navy.  Sure, I had to fight my way through a store full of teenagers and more fake hair and ill-advised skinny jeans than I care to see in one location, but for two pairs of cargo pants and two surprisingly gorgeous scarves, it was worth it.

On to my outfit.  This is one of the outfits I wore over the holiday weekend.  My family’s gatherings are pretty informal and, with such mild weather in Dallas, I felt this shorts-and-sweather combo was perfect.  And if it wasn’t?  Who cares?!  I loved it.

The lace shorts and sweater, both in a rich berry, were on sale at Kohl’s, a store I hadn’t set foot in since June 2005.  The Nine West shoes I’ve had for several years.

This one outfits ticks a couple of boxes on the list of fall trends.  Formal shorts have been showing up on the red carpet this year and I think they’re a fun alternative to the usual holiday options.  And monochromatic outfits are another trend this season.

One could argue I’ve been on the planet too long to wear formal shorts, but one would have to make that argument to the back of my head because I am working the hell out of these shorts.  Besides, I plan to take some risks and do (well, wear) the unexpected this holiday season.

Have you figured out your holiday party outfits yet?

About Felicia Biggins

I'm a fashion blogger and owner of The New Black, a personal styling business, in Austin TX. Follow me on Twitter: @fbigg.
This entry was posted in Daily outfits, Trends and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Monochrome for the Holidays

  1. Carrie says:

    “…but one would have to make that argument to the back of my head…”

    Oh, dear. I will absolutely use that one over and over again. THAT is gooood.

    And I agree. You are totally rockin those shorts. Really, really cute.

    Nine West is my favorite. Many, many times I have thought to myself, “Pay rent or get these sweeet heels?”

    I’m ashamed to publicly state my decision on that one.

  2. maiq8 says:

    Nice outfit! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Shorts & a Movie | The New Black

Leave a Reply

