Can I Tell You About These Boots?

One of the reasons I love clothes and accessories is that they sometimes remind me of an experience – the experience I had buying them or the experience I had wearing them.  If the experience was a good one, that article of clothing or pair of shoes becomes my favorite.

So, can I tell you about these boots?

It was early 2004 and my job sent me to England to its office in Newbury for a week or so to meet with employees and a couple of vendors.  This trip occurred after I’d begun training for my first race, a 10K, and, with the help of the hotel owner, I plotted a safe running route from my hotel so I could stick with my training schedule.

My hotel was in Reading and, on my first run, I passed a shoe store a few blocks away.  But I was focused on my run so was determined to keep going without even glancing at the window.  (You know that didn’t work, right?)  And then I saw these boots.  Peeps, they were actually placed on a pedestal.

I know. 

The next thing I noticed?  The “closed” sign on the door.  WHAT KIND OF SELF-RESPECTING RETAIL STORE CLOSES AT 5:30PM ON A WEEKNIGHT?!  In the next .0087 seconds, I realized I’d have to come up with a devious, yet completely believable reason to leave work at least an hour early the next day in order make it back to Reading, and this store, before 5:30.

Fortunately, I’m good at devious but completely believable and made it back the next evening before the store closed.  I was a bit sweaty and slightly disheveled because I’d run from the train station but you do what you have to.

Now, when I wear my boots I think of that whole experience.  England.  Training for my first 10K.  The annoyed look on the salesclerk’s face when I breezed in at 5:25pm.

And I smile.

About Felicia Biggins

I'm a fashion blogger and owner of The New Black, a personal styling business, in Austin TX. Follow me on Twitter: @fbigg.
This entry was posted in Daily outfits, Random and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Can I Tell You About These Boots?

  1. Carrie says:

    Oh, girl THOSE are fabulous!

    I love them!

    And what great memories. That is really cool.

    At least no one got bitch-cut. Right?

  2. Maggie S. says:

    GAH. Great story. I need some boots so badly, right now. Booking passage for England.

  3. Pingback: Shopping with Amelia | The New Black

Leave a Reply

