An Ode to Sweater Dresses

I love sweater dresses!  I mean, a sweater AND a dress?  What’s not to love about that?

A few years ago, I bought a sweater dress from a store which shall remain nameless and it, sadly, only lasted about a season before it just sort of gave up.  And by “gave up” I mean it lost its shape.  There is nothing sadder than a tired, shapeless sweater dress.  Whether its sad end was my fault or the dress’ fault didn’t matter [it was the dress’ fault]; what mattered was finding a replacement.

As luck would have it, I found two this year.

This black one was snatched up at Kohl’s during a mini spree last month for a steep discount.  Its short sleeves and lightweight knit are easy to layer under a jacket or blazer.  This was worn on a mid-60’s fall day in Austin, hence the open-toed shoes.

Last weekend, I found this deep red sweater dress at Penney’s, also for a steep discount.  I was actually there looking for something else entirely, and passed by the dress twice before a little voice inside said “OH, PLEASE, YOU KNOW YOU WANT THAT DRESS!”  I said it was a little voice, not a quiet one.

This dress is also short-sleeved, but its thick, cable knit and big, droopy cowl neck makes it warm and cozy, which I needed because, when I wore this one, the temperature was a chilly 45 degrees.  I layered it over tights and wore my lace-up boots with it.

The red dress is strictly a winter option because it’s the weight is heavier and, in this part of the country, spring is much too warm for it.  But the black one will easily transition to spring so I’ll have many opportunities to wear it between now and late April when the weather transitions from spring to “why does God hate us?!”.

About Felicia Biggins

I'm a fashion blogger and owner of The New Black, a personal styling business, in Austin TX. Follow me on Twitter: @fbigg.
This entry was posted in Daily outfits, How To's and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to An Ode to Sweater Dresses

  1. CathyB says:

    This black dress was definitely made for you! Beautiful! Looks like you have a cool accessory on your left wrist! You always put everything together so well!

  2. Amanda says:

    You look hot Felicia, especially in that black dress!

  3. Erin says:

    I love both of these dresses. I discovered sweater dresses earlier this year (around the time I discovered leggings – one can wear this sort of thing all year round in SF) and have been wearing the heck out of them lately. Question: are there any tricks to washing them so they don’t lose their shape? I’m sure dry cleaning is best, but I’d rather not do that unless I have to.

    • They’re the best and so versatile. Wish I could wear mine year round. Maybe it’s a sign I should travel more.

      Yes, dry cleaning is best but a cold water wash with a gentle detergent (like Woolite) and an air dry should help them maintain their shape. Air drying will also prevent the dreaded pilling.

  4. Carrie says:

    Oohhh…love’em both, but that black one is fab!!

    I haven’t had a sweater dress in several years. Love the look and really have no good reason why one isn’t hanging in my closet now.

Leave a Reply

