Scarves as Camoflauge

Scarves are a handy accessory to have in your wardrobe.  You can use them to add color or texture to an outfit.  They can also add polish to a simple outfit – say, a skirt and Tshirt – making it look as if you really made an effort.  And not as if you woke up late, pulled random clothes out of the stack of laundry you washed, dried and folded the night before but were too tired to put away, slapped on some make-up and wondered on your way to work that you’d remembered to put deodorant on after your very quick shower.  For example.

Moving on.  I work with a very stylish gentleman from Mexico City and recently spotted him at the office one day with his scarf tied in a way I hadn’t seen before.  He taught me how to tie mine the same way and it’s so easy it’s stupid.

  • Hold the scarf in front of you, horizontally, with your hands toward the ends
  • Toss the ends over your shoulders so the scarf is looped in front of your neck
  • Pull the end over your left shoulder around the right side of your neck and the end over your right shoulder around the left side of your neck so the ends are now hanging in front
  • Tuck the ends under the loop – et, viola!  You can pull the loop as loose or snug as you want.

Last week, a certain reader (hint: her name sounds like “Carrie”) commented that she liked a scarf I was wearing in a photo but that when she wears scarves she looks like she’s got a noose around her neck.  I think we can all agree: not attractive.  Well, I heard you, Noose Girl.  And so did Diane B, who shared a link with me so I could share it with you.  It’s a YouTube video called 25 Ways to Tie a Scarf in 4.5 Minutes.

Will you try a scarf this season if you haven’t already?

About Felicia Biggins

I'm a fashion blogger and owner of The New Black, a personal styling business, in Austin TX. Follow me on Twitter: @fbigg.
This entry was posted in How To's and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Scarves as Camoflauge

  1. Carrie says:

    I LOVE THAT! I am gonna have to try it now.

    I think maybe the couple I have are maybe too thin because they don’t have that “uumph” like yours does. They just lay there. Lifeless.

    Just pitiful looking, I tell you.

    And as soon as I get home…YOUTUBE IT IS.

    Thank you for looking out for me! I’m gonna be super-stylin’ now!!

    (Or at least look like I kinda know what I’m doing. I’ll take either!)

  2. Erin says:

    Ooh, I like this. I just re-tied my scarf this way. Much better.

Leave a Reply

