Dragon Tattoos and Swirly Earrings

Ever since the day two years ago, when a friend practically forced me to read The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, I have been obsessed with the Stieg Larsson’s trilogy and counting the months, weeks and, now, days, until the US version of the movie premiered.  On December 21st, I will be parked in my favorite theater, prepared to be riveted.

What does my love of Larsson have to do with fashion or style?  This.

If you know anything about the book or, more specifically, the character Lisbeth Salander, you’re probably as astounded as I am.  A safe version of her clothing?  What, exactly, is the point in that?

This character is prickly, brilliant, street smart, ruthless, painfully awkward, heartbreakingly vulnerable and not very likeable.  And her clothing is, perhaps subconsciously, her way of telling the world the way she has nothing but contempt for fashion, that she has no interest in looking pretty for anyone and, oh, by the way, f**k off.  I love her.

In all fairness, I haven’t seen the collection.  But hawking a clothing line based on a character who doesn’t give a rat’s ass about fashion?  Taking her “cutting edge fashion” and making it “safe for the masses”?  Swirly earrings?  What the hell, H&M?

Is it just me?

About Felicia Biggins

I'm a fashion blogger and owner of The New Black, a personal styling business, in Austin TX. Follow me on Twitter: @fbigg.
This entry was posted in Fashion News, IMHO, Random and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dragon Tattoos and Swirly Earrings

  1. Carrie says:

    Haven’t read it, but it sounds like you might be on to something.

    You almost kinda scare me…but I think I really dig this side of you.

    =)

  2. Chloe Grech says:

    I’m so disappointed the h&m collection has gone now! I guest I left it too late, I must have got the dates mixed up! oh well. Do you know where Ican get the swirly earrings though? Love them ❤

Leave a Reply

