Workouts and Dressing Up…

Many people make New Year’s Resolutions.  I make December Resolutions so I can get a jump on things.  And, apparently, so I can hone my self-deprivation skills through the holidays.  This tradition of mine is probably something I ought to discuss with a therapist.

Anyway, this year’s resolution is to return to triathlons.  I used to train and race back in the day.  A herniated disc put my athletic life on “pause” and, though the disc is still herniated and still causes me to walk bent over the first few steps out of bed every day, it’s time to press “play” again.

I’m back to early morning workouts, which, I have to tell you, is awesome.  There’s something about dragging myself out of the house long before the crack of dawn to hit the pool, the gym or the trail.  Knowing I’m taking another step toward being able to line up at the start of a race is great motivation.

Know what isn’t awesome?  Packing a lunch and setting up breakfast the night before and getting dressed for work AFTER my workout.  I’ve gone from having plenty of time to tweak (or completely change) my outfit to having barely enough time to get dressed at all.

My new manta is: Keep It Simple.  This is when it’s wonderful to have separates in your wardrobe.  I can throw on a skirt, T-shirt and blazer, pull on a pair of pumps or boots, wrap a scarf around my neck and pretty much know I’m at least presentable, if not exactly looking like the height of fashion.

On mornings like this when I know I’m working toward the bigger picture, just being presentable is ok with me.

 

About Felicia Biggins

I'm a fashion blogger and owner of The New Black, a personal styling business, in Austin TX. Follow me on Twitter: @fbigg.
This entry was posted in Daily outfits, How To's, Random and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Workouts and Dressing Up…

  1. Erin says:

    Good for you! I miss our morning workouts; I would never have gotten into half marathons without you. You look fab, as usual!

  2. Carrie says:

    You look fab! And I totally admire you for the discipline to do the early morning workouts.

    I do good to hit the alarm. Me and mornings don’t get along too good. Never have.

    But I will be cheering you on as you train and I’ll be cheering you on when the triathlon is here!

Leave a Reply

