New Year’s Fashion Resolutions

Happy New Year, TNB blog readers!

I took a little blogging break over the holidays to recharge and to really make my get-in-shape-for-triathlon habit stick.  So far so good on that front.  Ask me about it the first time I have blisters and can’t wear my beloved heels and I might feel differently.

While I was recharging, I came up with a New Year’s fashion resolution. As I’ve said before, personal style should change and evolve over time and I think it’s good to question it every once in a while to see if it still makes sense for you.

My own style tends toward minimalism.  I’m not one to wear a lot of prints or multiple colors in one outfit.  I’m drawn to classic lines and clothing I can wear for years.  I almost never wear clothing with a lot of embellishment.  I love jewelry – and own quite a bit – but I’m anti-bling and prefer wearing one statement piece versus 4-5 pieces of jewelry all at once.

For me, especially now that I’m training again and have 4.8 minutes to get dressed every morning, minimalism still works.  But I want to take some risks this year and push my style boundaries.  I’m going to experiment with textures and prints and perhaps even wear more than one color at once.  (I know, crazy!)  After all, if I’m going to encourage you to take some risks, I should take some as well.  And share the results, good or bad, of course.

It’s chilly today and perfect weather for my vintage red leather coat and patterned tights.  The pattern on my legs is a subtle gray-on-black herringbone and I wanted to rev things up with a leopard print belt (you know how I love me some leopard print).

So, here’s to developing some new style muscle in 2012!  Did you make any resolutions – fashion or otherwise – that you want to share?

About Felicia Biggins

I'm a fashion blogger and owner of The New Black, a personal styling business, in Austin TX. Follow me on Twitter: @fbigg.
This entry was posted in Daily outfits, IMHO and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to New Year’s Fashion Resolutions

  1. Nicole says:

    I love that black dress and leopard belt combo – looks great!! I’m thinking I may steal that look 🙂

  2. Carrie says:

    You look FABULOUS!

    I am loving that red coat AND that sweet little belt…wow!

    Rock on, sweet friend…rock on!

Leave a Reply

