Purses Are Accessories!

I was poking around online and came across a page where several women commented they didn’t think of purses as accessories.  What the…?!  OF COURSE PURSES ARE ACCESSORIES!  I mean, seriously, who doesn’t get that?!  And then one of the other blasphemers chimed in that she didn’t get “the whole shoe thing”.

I got off that site before I stroked out or ignited an accessories flame war, which can get really ugly with all the profanity, name-calling and otherwise juvenile behavior.  Don’t judge me.

Anyway, a couple of weeks ago, my friend, Angie, asked which purses she should have in her wardrobe.  I have so many purses, it’s not a question I’ve ever pondered, but I’ve come up with a short list:

An every day bag that’s got enough room to carry all your stuff and looks great for work:

A tote or shopper for when you need to carry around a LOT of stuff or for a weekend or overnight bag:

My trick when I don’t have time or energy to put more effort into an outfit?  Jeans, Tshirt, a clutch and a great pair of heels.  The accessories make you look like you put some thought into your get-up:

And, because we all have those dressy occasions when none of the above quite work, a special occasion bag:

Like shoes, you want a purse wardrobe that’ll cover you in different situations.  And resist limiting yourself to basic black and brown.  Like other accessories, purses are an easy way to inject some color and texture in your outfit.

See?  Preeeeetty.

P.S.: I found all these purses on Endless.com.

About Felicia Biggins

I'm a fashion blogger and owner of The New Black, a personal styling business, in Austin TX. Follow me on Twitter: @fbigg.
This entry was posted in How To's and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

