Dropping Some Drop-Waist Knowledge

In light of my New Year’s fashion resolution, I’m wearing two colors (two!) together and a dress in a style I can’t usually pull off.

I just got this navy, drop waist, mini dress from ASOS.com.  I stay away from drop waist dresses because, when you’re hippy and short-waisted, the drop waist hits at the widest part of your body.  Not flattering.  But something about the way this dress is cut makes it work on my body and I’m glad I took a chance on it.

With it, I’m wearing burgundy, patterned tights and burgundy, open-toed pumps.  A little tip for those of you who, like me, are height-challenged: match your tights to your shoes – it makes your legs look a mile long!

About Felicia Biggins

I'm a fashion blogger and owner of The New Black, a personal styling business, in Austin TX. Follow me on Twitter: @fbigg.
This entry was posted in Daily outfits and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Dropping Some Drop-Waist Knowledge

  1. Diane says:

    Thanks for the tip on looking “leggy”!

  2. Carrie says:

    Girl you absolutely pulled this look off. Very stylish and sleek.

    Love. Just love.

  3. Maggie S. says:

    I like this look. Without the photo, I would have dismissed the discussion with my pre-conceived ideas about dropped waist styles.

Leave a Reply

