Crocs: My Dirty Little Secret

I have a secret.

Last night I was perusing the New York Times website when I came across an article about the resurgence of Crocs – yes, they’re making a comeback – and I was about to make a derisive comment…out loud…to myself…like I’m sure we all do.  Then I remembered: Awww, s**t, I own a pair.

Let me tell you how that happened.  Several years ago, I was in Coeur d’Alene, Idaho for a big race, along with my All-Star support crew (my mom and sister). In the two or three days leading up to one of these races, there’s a kind of village that springs up at the race site with vendors hawking various wares and services, often at discounted prices.  It’s a chance to try out new gear and to see new products up close and personal.  I even took a wetsuit for a test drive in an Endless Pool display.

Anyway, I’d been walking around for quite a while with my mom and sister, when the Crocs booth appeared before us.  I made a derisive comment – this time out loud to other people – and was about to walk on by when Mom said “You know, they look  like they might be really comfortable.  Maybe you should try on a pair. “

I quickly looked around to see if anyone I knew was in the immediate vicinity.  The coast was clear so I sat down, slipped on a blue pair and stood up.

LIKE.  WALKING.  ON.  AIR.  My feet felt so good in those hideous shoes.  Seriously.  Like being barefoot but better.  I gave the salesperson cash, threw the shoes in a bag and scampered away, as if I’d just bought crack in an alley from a sketchy character in the middle of the night.  Or a pair of immensely ugly shoes at a race expo from a vendor in broad daylight.  I blame it on the excitement of my big race day and the heady rush of doing something you know, deep down, is wrong.

But I still own those Crocs and when I do yard work, out they come.  Easy on my feet.  Easy to hose off.  Easy to kick off and hide if anyone stops by.

You’ll keep my secret, right?

About Felicia Biggins

I'm a fashion blogger and owner of The New Black, a personal styling business, in Austin TX. Follow me on Twitter: @fbigg.
This entry was posted in IMHO and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Crocs: My Dirty Little Secret

  1. Erin says:

    I will never look at you the same way.

  2. Elizabeth says:

    I too own a pair of Crocs for yardwork. They also come in handy at the lake house since I hate the slimy feel of the lake bed and they float if they come off. They are possibly the ugliest things I have ever owned!!!

  3. Maggie S. says:

    Comfy, but I trip every third or fourth step. Tripandtripandtripandtrip.

  4. kim says:

    I love my crocs. I have hte big ugly ones, small flats that tone my legs when I walk, and plain pair of flats. they are the best, best, best and the little flats aren’t so ugly!

  5. Karen Underwood says:

    I have …. four pair! Yes, I even have a pair of Mary Jane crocs for dress-up! I know, I see you shuddering!

  6. Carrie says:

    Must we share every secret?

    Not only did I have a pair (and I say “did” because I have no clue where they are now…maybe under the bed?) but THEY WERE HOT PINK.

    And I wore them with pride when they were the ‘in’ thing.

    Or when I “thought” they were the ‘in’ thing.

    What a douche.

    • It’s not douche-y to have worn them, or even to still wear them. It is dorky, though. Unless you’re under 5 and only because you probably don’t have a whole lot of choice in the matter.

Leave a Reply

