Today’s Style Inspirations

Today’s outfit was inspired by two recent sightings.  One was a blog covering the colorful coat trend.  The other was Carole Burnett on a re-run of Law & Order: SVU.  In addition to my passion for fashion, I’ve got a serious thing for crime shows.  I don’t know where my passion for forensics comes from, but it’s deep and it’s real.

Back to fashion.  I rarely pull out this short, green trench I bought at the Gap years ago and I don’t know why.  I loved the color then and still do.  I mean, it’s the color of happiness, for pete’s sake, and easily worn with neutrals – khaki, gray, navy – and with other colors, like red or olive green, for example.  And, of course, denim.

The scarf:  spotted amongst a street vendor’s wares in Paris 11 years ago.  Enough said.

Oh, wait – that’s not enough said.  Carole Burnett was wearing a brightly colored scarf wrapped and tied snugly around her neck on the aforementioned L&O: SVU re-run and it reminded me of this scarf, proving style inspiration is everywhere.  You just have to be willing to be inspired.

Now, it’s enough said.

 

About Felicia Biggins

I'm a fashion blogger and owner of The New Black, a personal styling business, in Austin TX. Follow me on Twitter: @fbigg.
This entry was posted in Daily outfits and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Today’s Style Inspirations

  1. Carrie says:

    You had me at Carol Burnett. (Who is my second favorite to Lucille Ball.)

    But I have no doubt you totally blow her out of the water in this sweet little number. I love that green…it’s not dark and dreary like our winters can sometimes be.

    Love it.

    • Isn’t she wonderful?! I still giggle when I think about certain skits from her variety show (totally dating myself).

      I like the colorful coat trend – though i think it’s beyond “trend” status since I’ve had this and others for several years. They’re great because they wake up an outfit and magically make the wearer appear awake too.

  2. Audrey says:

    I really like the colour of your coat. It’s such a nice break from all the darker colours usually associated with winter.
    P. S I’m following you on bloglovin’

    • It’s easy to stick with dark colors during the fall/winter seasons – it’s cold, it’s dreary, it’s hibernating time. But it’s just as easy to add some fun color.

      Thanks for following me on Bloglovin’, Audrey! I’ll check out your blog and return the favor.

Leave a Reply

