Adventures in Hair Coloring At Home

I should preface this post by telling you I started going gray in my late 20’s, thanks to my Dad’s genes.  So, coloring my hair has been a priority for a long time.  Last week I read a Yahoo article about a new online business called eSalon.  You can read a (sponsored) article here, but the gist of it is that after answering a series of questions about your hair, you can order professional grade hair color online and color your hair in the privacy and convenience of your home for a fraction of the cost of having it colored in a salon.

It was started by a veteran hair colorist who has hired a staff of colorists who mix the color for you based on your answers and, if you choose to do so, photos you’ve uploaded to the site.  The first order is free, though you pay for shipping.  Since I was in DIRE need of color (proof below), I took a chance.

The box arrived in two days with the color, a squeeze bottle filled with developer, cotton balls, rubber gloves, stain guard, stain remover and a leave-in conditioner – everything you need to get the job done, including personalized instructions.  Even the label on the color had my name on it! (It’s the little things, peeps.)  The instructions weren’t anything you haven’t seen before but it’s always good to have them, just in case.

How’d the color turn out?  Well, here’s me in all my graying glory before:

And here’s me after:

The gray is covered and my hair looks and feels healthy.  The color is a bit darker than I intended but it is the color I chose.  Will I use eSalon again?  Oh, yes, in about five weeks when they send my next scheduled order.

It can be pricey staying on top of all the girlie maintenance routines – manicures, pedicures, waxing, plucking, hair color! – so anytime I can save a few pennies without sacrificing quality, I’m all over it like…well, like this color on my hair, actually.

About Felicia Biggins

I'm a fashion blogger and owner of The New Black, a personal styling business, in Austin TX. Follow me on Twitter: @fbigg.
This entry was posted in IMHO and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Adventures in Hair Coloring At Home

  1. Carrie says:

    That is fantastic. You’re brave…but never the less: fantastic.

    I’m an old hairstylist and should have started coloring my hair years ago. I am finding those little gray stragglers more and more. And it’s like I think if I don’t acknowledge them, they’ll go away. You know…like a bad date.

    Uh, it ain’t happening.

    Now you have me thinking.

Leave a Reply

