Blame It On the Rain

We’ve had RAIN in Austin!  Lots of it.  Days and days.  Normally, this is the kind of weather I’d  whine and complain about, but after a year of hearing of little else but the severe drought conditions and wild fires, days and days of rain is cause for celebration.

From a fashion standpoint, however, the rain stinks.  My suede and pony hair shoes have been neglected in my closet in favor of more water-resistant options and I miss them.  Yeah, I miss my shoes.  And I’m avoiding slacks and trousers because there’s nothing worse than arriving at work with soggy cuffs…except the fact that you’ve arrived at work.  (I’m just saying what we’re all thinking.)

This was a recent rainy day but it was also unseasonably warm.  I found this dress at The Gap two weeks ago.  Prematurely springy, sure, but it was, like, 78 degrees that afternoon.  While the morning was cool, a sweater dress eventually would’ve been a sweaty dress.  (Heh.  See what I did there?)  My neutral, open-toed slingbacks – Calvin Klein from Macy’s three years ago – were both water-resistant and the perfect complement to this navy and cream dress.

And it was cool enough in the morning to get away with wearing my vintage leather jacket.   Adding vintage to an outfit – especially when that outfit is an off-the-rack dress from a national chain – personalizes your look and lets you put your own stamp on a dress you might very well run into, on someone else, during the day.

Okay, also?  I’m over the rain already.

About Felicia Biggins

I'm a fashion blogger and owner of The New Black, a personal styling business, in Austin TX. Follow me on Twitter: @fbigg.
This entry was posted in Daily outfits and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

