In the Red for V-Day

Last week one of the big news stories was a group of moms demanding JCPenney’s fire Ellen Degeneres as its spokesperson.  I, most emphatically, do not agree with either their stance or their approach (Trying to get her fired because she’s gay?).

But, the brouhaha over Ellen lead me straight (heh!) to JCP so I could show my support for showing their support by spending a few bucks.  Have you been to JCP lately? They’ve re-vamped their marketing, added new lines and have some great designs on the racks, like MNG by Mango, Liz Claiborne and Charlotte Ronson, among others.

 

One of my finds was this red twill dress, worn in honor of Valentine’s Day.  It’s fully lined and slim fitting, which shows off my curves.

Though I normally don’t care for cap sleeves, this is an open, more modern version of the cap that doesn’t hit my arm at an unflattering point.  It also doesn’t look twee.  I don’t do twee.  I also like the button detail at the waist – just enough to add interest but not so much to detract from the lines or add volume.  You know how I feel about added volume!

I just couldn’t resist being a bit matchy-matchy with my red, Michael Kors, platform Mary Janes, but a neutral purse will prevent me from looking like my outfit was sponsored by Geranimals.

[Thank you, Audrey M., for emailing to suggest I include more detail photos.]

About Felicia Biggins

I'm a fashion blogger and owner of The New Black, a personal styling business, in Austin TX. Follow me on Twitter: @fbigg.
This entry was posted in Daily outfits and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to In the Red for V-Day

  1. Erin says:

    I love this dress! And you look amazing.

  2. Audrey M says:

    Such a gorgeous dress!! I’m always looking for outfits with small details that add interest like the buttons and cap sleeves. You look very nice, and thank you for the mention:)

  3. Maggie S. says:

    I do, indeed, love those shoes.

  4. Diane says:

    So cute! And those shoes are perfect with it!

Leave a Reply

