How to Rock a Halter Dress at the Office

A couple nights ago I went to an event downtown.  I dealt with horrific Valentine’s Day traffic – the usual rush hour traffic PLUS horse-drawn carriages – fought my way into the parking garage, fended off an aggressive Volvo SUV and made my way to the store for their BIG EVENT.

It stunk.  The tiny store was mobbed and the tiny free cocktail was easily the worst I’ve ever had.  So, so, so not worth the effort.  However, one of my favorite boutiques was on my way back to the parking garage and they were having a 50% off sale.  You know where this is going, right?

Yeah, this is where it went.  I love the colors in this high neck halter dress.  Navy, bright green…and black. Colors I never would’ve put together but this combo works.  The thin black belt, which came with the dress, is the perfect accent.

Ah, but could I wear it to work?  Oh, yes.  I have a couple of black blazers and this one worked better than the other.  Ideally, a shorter jacket or maybe a shrug would’ve been better but I think the length was okay here.  I like that it’s a dress I can wear to work and then to happy hour afterward.

Unfortunately, I didn’t have a happy hour yesterday and this dress wasn’t appropriate for kickboxing class.  Not that I didn’t consider it.

About Felicia Biggins

I'm a fashion blogger and owner of The New Black, a personal styling business, in Austin TX. Follow me on Twitter: @fbigg.
This entry was posted in Daily outfits, How To's and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to How to Rock a Halter Dress at the Office

  1. Erin says:

    Oh wow, this is gooooorgeous. I love halter dresses!

  2. Carrie says:

    It’s official. I am now hip.

    I HAVE DONE THIS! Yes, me. I have done this.

    And had no idea at the time I was doing it right. I just really, really love my halter dress and well, just wanted to wear it. And there was something sneaky feeling about being completely out of dress code under my jacket.

    Yours is fabulous…and looks even more fabulous on you!

Leave a Reply

