Shopping with Amelia

You know how I feel about certain clothes or accessories – when I have an interesting experience finding something, that piece is forever dear to me. Finding this inexpensive (cheap, really) teal sundress was an interesting experience.

I don’t have children. I have a great niece, Amelia. She’s two and as big a character as any I’ve ever encountered. This kid doesn’t just sing and dance, she stages an entire Broadway show that she’s made up on the spot. And it doesn’t matter where you happen to be at the time, when she’s inspired, the show is ON.

One weekend while she was staying with me, I decided to stop in at Old Navy to check out their sales. Probably because I don’t have children, I thought it would be an easy, quick trip. It was quick alright. But easy? Something – I don’t know what – inspired our sweet girl and she needed to share that inspiration with the world. Or, at least with everyone who happened to be in the store at that time.

Amelia, come help me find a pretty dress.

Amelia, over here. Come here. Over here. No, where I am. Here. Today.

Amelia, inside voice. Don’t act like you don’t know what that means.

Amelia, don’t dance on the display. No, the mannequin can’t dance with you.

Amelia, look before you…Sorry!…before you run into someone else.

Amelia, come in the dressing room with me. Or, dance into the dressing room with me.

Amelia, DON’T OPEN THE DOOR! The show is in here right now.

Amelia, I can’t pick you up right now.

Amelia, DON’T put that in your mou…! Spit it out. All of it. Jeez, what WAS that?

Amelia, I can’t give you a pedicure right now. Wait. Where did you get that nail polish?!

Amelia, I can’t sing your song – I don’t know the words.

Amelia, do you like this dress? Okay, let’s go pay for it. NO, WAIT FOR ME TO GET DRESSED FIRST!!

So, we picked this dress ($12 on sale) and it looks great with my Cole Haan chocolate brown, yellow and teal open-toed slingbacks (um, slightly more than $12). On its own, the spaghetti straps aren’t office appropriate, but my yellow Boden cardigan brings me up to code.

FYI, mine and Amelia’s next quick stop was the liquor store. She needed a nap and Aunt Felicia needed a little quiet time with a glass bottle of wine.

About Felicia Biggins

I'm a fashion blogger and owner of The New Black, a personal styling business, in Austin TX. Follow me on Twitter: @fbigg.
This entry was posted in Daily outfits, Random and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Shopping with Amelia

  1. kim says:

    absolutely hysterical! LOL!

    Kim

  2. C Biggins says:

    This is SO funny! And i love the dress!

  3. Elizabeth says:

    You look phenomenal!!! And I love that Amelia.

  4. Kristin Hunter says:

    Ha! That’s my girl! Funny I’m reading this while also wearing a sundress headed to the Domain with the little monster to do some makeup shopping. She’s never been to MAC, should be an experience.

  5. Diane says:

    I thought this was hysterically funny! I could see and hear it vividly!

  6. Carrie says:

    I don’t know Amelia but I can pretty much tell I LOVE AMELIA!

    So, apparently I’m not the only one with a niece(s) who I love more than life even when they drive me to the edge.

    Then push.

    And you look like a million bucks. Great find. And those shoes? Girlfriend…they’re fab!!

Leave a Reply

