You Pick the Dress!

I could use your help. Next week I’m attending a reception for my über talented friend Harlow’s photography exhibit at Gallery Two1Four in Houston (the exhibit is titled Gunplay – check it out if you’re in town March 16-April 21). I’m assuming it’ll be kind of a posh affair –it is Houston – so I’m fretting about what to wear.

Here’s where you come in. I have several options, all very different, but I’m in love with all, to varying degrees and for various reasons, and can’t decide. Your mission, if you choose to accept it, is to vote on which option I should wear to the reception.

Option 1: Purple, fitted, empire waist dress from Caché with leopard print, Calvin Klein slingbacks. I love that it’s fitted and purple and really enjoy adding the leopard and beaded, fringed purse to its awesomeness. Overall, it’s a sexy look but it’s not too self-righteous about it.

Option 2: A black, frilly-tiered dress from Charming Charlie’s (yep!) with black patent wedges and a beaded clutch. Lots of leg. Loooots of leg. Which, to be honest, I didn’t realize until I saw the pics. But it’s a fun dress and, thanks to years of running and cycling, I’m confident in it.

Option 3: This is a sentimental favorite for me. One, because it’s a Jean-Paul Gaultier dress that I found on sale at a boutique in Sestri Levante, Italy. And, two, Harlow was with me when I found it and proclaimed “You’re a** is incredible in this dress – buy it!” It’s clingy and very va-va-voom but with its bright colors and Bollywood print and worn with gold flats and this sweet, shell purse it’s also sort of boho.

Option 4: A late entry in the contest. My friend – and today’s photographer – Melissa Z. offered to let me borrow her one-shoulder dress for the event. The colors, turquoise and coral, are so vivid and, though you can’t see it, there’s a demure slit over the left thigh that’s visible when I walk. If it wins I’ll wear this with gold sandals or pumps. (By the way, this is the very dress I browbeat her into wearing to a cocktail party a couple of weeks ago.)

So, those are the choices: 1-4. “Polls” are open until Friday the 16th at midnight – vote early and often! I’ll announce the winner next week.

About Felicia Biggins

I'm a fashion blogger and owner of The New Black, a personal styling business, in Austin TX. Follow me on Twitter: @fbigg.
This entry was posted in Daily outfits and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to You Pick the Dress!

  1. Carrie says:

    My vote would be that you make multiple changes like they do when hosting award shows.

    You look fantastic in every single one.

    However, you asked for a vote. So, I’m gonna give you my top 2.

    I love 1. Love, love, love that look. The shoes top it off. Sheer perfection.

    Then I also love 3. It’s really full of personality and class. They are two totally different looks but I’m not sure which I like more.

    And I’m gonna HAVE to know what you went with…so follow this posting up with a report back! And have a FAB time!!

  2. Cathy says:

    Wow, first of all, you look great in ALL these. No wonder you need help deciding. As I scrolled down, I was like “oh yeah, definitely this one”, and then said the same thing when I saw the next one. So, even though you look amazing in all, Im really leaning toward #3. It just seems to fit the event and the fact that you bought in Italy! Wow.

  3. kim says:

    I like the purple!!! 🙂

  4. fableo says:

    i love the purple the shoes make it killer

  5. Maggie S. says:

    Girl. For me, I would have to go with “a** incredible”. However, You have “leg* amazing” in the black dress. I like number one for being just overall WOW! Number 4 is a great look, but for no reason I can figure, it is number 4.

    I couldn’t pick.

  6. Hey Felicia, I like the Purple or the long one. I think accent you well and the shoes and bags match great. (This is Lauri, Cathy and Mark’s neighbor in Killeen)

  7. Dawn says:

    I pick number 1, though you look fabulous in all of them!!

  8. whitney says:

    For an art gallery exhibit in the evening? Number one, all the way! But change the purse to a simple black clutch-let the shoes be the centerpiece (they are beautiful!). Not a fan of the black dress, and the other 2, while pretty, seem too summery\casual for a evening cocktail event.
    Good luck and have fun!

  9. Erin says:

    I LOVE #1. And then 3, 4, and 2 in that order.

  10. Melissa Z says:

    As the in-my-house photographer I can confirm she looked AMAZING in each one! Though I love MY dress ( 🙂 ) I am going with purple.

  11. Crystal says:

    I like option 1 the best! It’s great for black tie and the fitting brings out your awesome figure.

  12. Alison Lewis says:

    I am torn between 1 and 3 as well.

    1) The purple sheath is the perfect dress in that it has a lovely scoop v-neck and hits perfectly 2 inches above the knee. It shows off your curves and lets your long legs be seen. The leopard sling-backs are to die for and I love the beaded fringed purse. I would add a chunky statement piece of a necklace with reds and golds to reflect the colors in the shoes and purse.

    3) The Jean-Paul Gaultier is fabulous and shows off your defined clavicle and curves. The shell purse is amazing! Gold bangles and earrings would look great with this dress and compliment the bollywood theme of the print.

    Toss a coin??? At least then, you really know which you want by the time the coin lands.

  13. Nicole says:

    The first one if my favorite! You look fantastic!!

  14. Shannon says:

    I love 1 and 3. You cannot go wrong with any of them.

Leave a Reply

