I Want to Ride My Bicycle…

This morning I was pounding out mileage on my bike (on my trainer) with the iPod on shuffle, when I came up with this outfit. I don’t know if it was Queen, the Brothers Johnson or Blondie that inspired me but this is what popped into my brain when I was sweating my butt off in the garage at 5am.

It’s all neutrals – black skirt, cream t-shirt, denim jacket – with the shot of turquoise in my ballet flats. I was going to wear a plain t-shirt but needed some texture since, to the eye, every other component of this look is flat. The multi-textured appliqués on this t-shirt provide some interest.

Come to think of it, with all these ruffles maybe it was Prince who inspired me this morning.

About Felicia Biggins

I'm a fashion blogger and owner of The New Black, a personal styling business, in Austin TX. Follow me on Twitter: @fbigg.
This entry was posted in Daily outfits and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I Want to Ride My Bicycle…

  1. Love the look, it’s clean and modern, exactly what I love to wear! The jacket fits you beautifully. Oh, and the photo with the bike? You look like one of those gorgeous Italian women we saw riding their bike around Lucca (when we were there several years ago) – except they wore heels, and their bike wasn’t aero 😉

    • Amanda, I’ve often wondered how those gorgeous, Italian women manage to ride bikes in heels. Maybe I’ll give it a shot myself this summer.

      Or maybe I’ll just stick to drinking coffee in cafés, watching the pros whiz by.

  2. Nicole says:

    I love it!! Especially how the colors all look together, and the flats make it look just right!

  3. Definitely Prince. And those shoes are a-mazing! Totally make that outfit a hit!

Leave a Reply

