Channeling Marilyn

Marilyn Monroe died in 1962 but remains a style icon for generations of women.  I don’t recall ever seeing an image of her that I didn’t love.  Not only were her clothes always gorgeous and glamorous, but she herself was gorgeous and glamorous.   My favorite image is the iconic one of her in the white dress from her movie “The Seven Year Itch” released in 1955.

I guess I was feeling a little Marilyn-ish as I was getting dressed this morning so I slipped on this dress (Anthropologie – three years ago) and my new Nine West platform sandals.

Unfortunately, I don’t live near a subway grate and couldn’t talk anyone into blowing my skirt up.

About Felicia Biggins

I'm a fashion blogger and owner of The New Black, a personal styling business, in Austin TX. Follow me on Twitter: @fbigg.
This entry was posted in Daily outfits and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Channeling Marilyn

  1. You look fabulous in that!

    I love Marilyn. Just watched a thing on TV about her last weekend. Haven’t yet seen “My Week with Marilyn” and just might make put that on my weekend agenda.

    But I love that dress. And your comment at the end put me in stitches!

    • You know, it wasn’t until a male friend called me “Marilyn Monroe” once when I wore the dress that I even noticed the similarity. It’s not exactly a halter dress but the full skirt and, of course, the color give it a similar feel.

Leave a Reply

