Forever 21?

Until about a year ago, around the time I started this blog actually, I never paid much attention to the brand Forever 21 and my impression of the brand was “cheap, cheaply made, much too young”.  But I was writing a guest post for a blog focused on 20-somethings and needed some photos so wandered onto the site. I ended up buying a couple of maxi dresses that have survived several launderings – I know, I was surprised, too.

So when my partner in crime, Melissa, wanted to check out the store in the mall Sunday afternoon, I went in with an open mind and was rewarded.

 This bright blue dress is lightweight and perfect for this time of year.  I work in an office which doubles as a meat locker so having this cropped denim jacket will make wearing the dress at work a lot more comfortable.  I’m wearing gold sandals here but I could also wear it with neutral pumps, my bright yellow slingbacks or my red, platform wedges.

I immediately thought of wearing this trench vest over one of the maxis I ordered online last year.  The length of the vest is proportional to the length of the dress.  I feel exceedingly chic in this exceedingly inexpensive outfit.  I’ll also wear the vest with jeans (with white jeans it’ll look especially good) or trousers.

 Ah, ruffles.  I’m beginning to think I’m actually drawn to ruffles at this point.  This red, ruffled, sleeveless tank can be worn with my gray, cropped trousers, white jeans, with this graphic black and cream skirt, with jeans and heels.  I can – and will – wear the hell out of this tank this summer.

Here’s the thing you have to know when you buy clothing here: you’re getting inexpensive pieces that will not likely be in your wardrobe two years from now.  But for a budget-friendly few bucks you get some fun, trendy things you can mix in with your investment pieces to expand your wardrobe.

 

About Felicia Biggins

I'm a fashion blogger and owner of The New Black, a personal styling business, in Austin TX. Follow me on Twitter: @fbigg.
This entry was posted in Daily outfits, IMHO. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Forever 21?

  1. Maggie S. says:

    Thanks for doing the legwork. I would never have given them a second look. Last time I paid any attention, their mannequins looked like aliens from the planet bookmark.

    • LOL – “aliens from planet bookmark”! Awesome.

      You’re very welcome. Like almost any place else, you just have to understand what you’re getting and what its place is in your wardrobe. But it’s a cheap way to have some fun with clothing.

  2. Maggie S. says:

    Whew…I have been reading for weeks. Just now switched to WP and now finally, my comments show.

  3. Just went for the first time about 2 weekends ago. I thought the same thing you did. Too young, cheap, etc.

    Then I got in there and saw how wrong I was! (Imagine THAT.)

    Didn’t get anything only because the line to checkout was OUT THE DOOR. I kid you not. OUT THE DOOR.

    So, they must be doing something right. =)

    • Yeah, it was very busy when I was there, too, but as I emerged from the dressing room the line had miraculously disappeared. A sign from the universe, as far as I’m concerned.

  4. Pingback: Shorts & a Movie | The New Black

Leave a Reply

