1 Dress, 3 Spring/Summer Trends

Before I get to today’s outfit post, I want to thank those of you who posted comments here and on Facebook about last Friday’s post.  I know Mr. “Senior Trainer” was trying to sell a product.  I know that he is, God help him, an idiot.  I know his so-called feedback had nothing to do with me – or my life – and I’ve mentally tossed it.  And I know, because of the group of awesome people I’m honored to call friends, I’m good exactly as I am.  Thank you!!

On to the clothes!

Over the weekend I hit a few sales and stumbled across this little gem at The Gap.  It wasn’t on sale, but I was willing to fork over a few bucks for this dress which ticks several boxes on the list of Spring/Summer 2012 trends.  Stripes!  Pastels!  Retro 60s shape!

I love the combination of colors – navy, mint green, purple, aqua blue.  (The matching blue nail polish?  A happy coincidence.)  Lately I’ve been drawn to anything with stripes and the “babydoll” shape of the dress is evocative of the 60s, an era I happen to be fond of…for no particular reason.

Worn with neutral accessories to keep the look from spinning out of control, this dress is a winner.

About Felicia Biggins

I'm a fashion blogger and owner of The New Black, a personal styling business, in Austin TX. Follow me on Twitter: @fbigg.
This entry was posted in Daily outfits, Trends and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 1 Dress, 3 Spring/Summer Trends

  1. Maggie S. says:

    Totally off topic, but when you stand next to that door, you look really tall. I feel that my legs won’t handle the shorter styles. What do you recommend for gals whose legs look like they belong on a piano bench?

    • Ha! It’s a short door (closet under the stairs). I’m 5’4″ and wearing 4″ heels today.

      The style of dress isn’t so much an issue as the length. For instance, I generally steer clear of skirts that land around my ankles or that hit me mid-calf. Hemlines in that zone make me look like a hobbit. And hobbits aren’t hot.

      As for shorter lengths, as long as the hem doesn’t land at the heaviest part of your thigh, you’re golden. For most women, just above the knee (or just below) will be the most flattering hemline.

      Give it a shot and let me know how it turns out for you.

  2. This might very well be one of the cutest things I’ve seen you wear!

    And those shoes?!? The perfect fit for this look! You are way too cute…that last picture is FAB!

Leave a Reply

