I’ve Got My Orange Crush

Starting out today’s post with an apology.  I intended to write an insightful, witty post about swimsuit season.  What happened?

My allergies happened.  I didn’t so much fall asleep as pass out last night.  At 8pm.  And I woke up this morning looking as if I’ve gone a round with Iron Mike Tyson.  As if I could last a whole round.

Anyway, I’m hopped up on every allergy medication I could get my hands on and hoping I don’t fall asleep at work…only because then I’d have to wake up to drive myself home.

The upshot is that I didn’t have time to write about swimsuits so, instead, this post will be about one of my recent favorite outfits.

This orange skirt and sleeveless blouse were found on sale at Ann Taylor Loft.  Orange is a big trend this spring/summer and this cotton skirt with its eyelet detail above the hem is lightweight and perfect for the 100+ degree days in my immediate future.

It can be intimidating to wear orange because it’s such a strong color.  Wearing it with an earthy color tones it down a bit.  But I also like wearing orange with navy or yellow.  Orange and black is a little too “Halloween” for my taste, but it’s certainly an option.

This blouse is one I can wear pretty much year-round in Austin.  I like the ruffle detail down the left side.  (Yes, another ruffle.  I told you I’m drawn to them lately.) Its super feminine style looks great with jeans, too.

So, Friday’s post will be about finding a swimsuit.  There won’t be any pictures of me in one.  Just so we’re clear on that.

About Felicia Biggins

I'm a fashion blogger and owner of The New Black, a personal styling business, in Austin TX. Follow me on Twitter: @fbigg.
This entry was posted in Daily outfits, Trends and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I’ve Got My Orange Crush

  1. Erin says:

    I love orange, but can’t wear it with my coloring. It looks great on you, though!

Leave a Reply

