It’s Swimsuit Season, Ladies

On Wednesday, I promised a witty and insightful post about wearing a bikini.  In my defense, in that same post, I did mention I was hopped up on allergy medications, so….

Several years ago I was on vacation in Italy, visiting my friend, Harlow.  Her beach home was literally across a narrow lane from the beach and the Mediterranean Sea.  (Go ahead, hate me.)

One day as I sat on a beach chair under an umbrella reading a trashy novel, I noticed this woman down the beach.  She was quite rotund – practically as round as she was tall – and she was in a bikini.

I couldn’t take my eyes off her.  I was so curious how this woman with The Anti-Bikini Body could be – proudly – strutting her stuff in a string bikini.  But she was too busy enjoying herself to notice me tracking her every move.

Conversely, I was under wraps – in a one-piece UNDER a cover-up.  Now, I was no bikini goddess, but I was also not this curiously confident corpulent creature I was peeking at from behind my trashy novel.

Finally, I drew Harlow’s attention to the woman.  She looked up, spotted my obsession, shrugged and said “It’s not like a one-piece was gonna hide all that.”

Oh.  Oh.  OH.

That was the sound of a paradigm shift occurring.  The sound of me being shoved out of my box of preconceived notions.

I was the only person obsessing about this woman and that said more about me than it did about her.  She was enjoying herself, playing with her grandkids – oh, yeah, did I forget to mention she was in her late 50s, early 60s?  I was 20 years younger and 50 pounds lighter but I was the one dressed in my version of a burqa to prevent anyone from noticing I wasn’t perfect.

These days almost all my time spent in water is for training and I do that in racer-back one-pieces.  But I own a few bikinis and, when I wear them, maybe someone notices my imperfections.

But I’m usually enjoying myself too much to care.

About Felicia Biggins

I'm a fashion blogger and owner of The New Black, a personal styling business, in Austin TX. Follow me on Twitter: @fbigg.
This entry was posted in IMHO and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to It’s Swimsuit Season, Ladies

  1. Maggie S. says:

    Jumping in at the deep end. Free.

  2. Love it! Planning to become a confidant less than corpulent creature this summer!

  3. “It’s not like a one-piece was gonna hide all that.”

    Oh that’s goooood. I really like that. I am totally gonna remember it.

Leave a Reply

