Remembering the 70s

The passing of Donna Summer last week made me a little nostalgic for the 70s.  She was the Queen of Disco and I clearly and fondly remember singing along to her songs – on the radio! – in my bedroom.

(For those of you too young to be familiar with her body of work, “On the Radio” was one of her many hits.)  (For those of you who are familiar – see what I did there?)

Hearing the news about her death made me Remember Yesterday and want to pull on my new flares and peasant top, throw on some platforms and dance like a Bad Girl.

So, the cool thing is, I have flares, a peasant top and platforms in my closet because the 70s made a fashion comeback last year and it’s still going strong.  Maxi dresses and skirts, boho blouses, headbands – well, maybe just on Nicole Richie, platform shoes, seriously flared jeans or trousers…

A word of caution: if you wear head-to-toe retro you risk looking like a hot mess.  But if you wear a retro piece with more modern pieces from your wardrobe you’ll be Hot Stuff.  (Okay, I’ll stop.)

I’ve gotta go Work Hard for the Money now.  Peace out.

About Felicia Biggins

I'm a fashion blogger and owner of The New Black, a personal styling business, in Austin TX. Follow me on Twitter: @fbigg.
This entry was posted in Random and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Remembering the 70s

  1. Heaven Knows, a person wearing too much retro will look like a cake in the rain. I Feel Love for my satin baseball jacket. Will I ever have the chance to wear it again?

  2. Karen Underwood says:

    If I happen to be dancing in MacArthur Park while wearing my flared pants and I hear “Love to Love you Baby”, it will be the Last Dance I will do!

Leave a Reply

